我们是谁

JODI FIRTH

乔迪(Jodi)是一位已患有自闭症的孩子的已婚妈妈。除了是父母的照料者外,Jodi还曾在住所护理中工作,在过去3年中与18岁以上的弱势成年人一起工作。

在目前的工作之前,乔迪曾在职士兵13年。在她的军事生涯中,她常驻英国,北爱尔兰和德国。当乔迪离开武装部队时,她决定搬回斯旺西,为当时2岁的儿子提供稳定,而她的丈夫继续在部队服役。安顿平民生活是一场艰苦的斗争,当乔迪(Jodi)试图为当时未确诊的儿子寻求支持时,情况更是如此。这让她大开眼界,因为她意识到杂乱无章的系统将如何获得帮助和支持,甚至找出基本信息。

她在为孩子提供ASD途径,教育和心理健康服务方面遇到困难,因此她热衷于帮助他们制定各种服务,以更有效地为残疾儿童及其父母的照护者工作。

ISHBEL HANSEN

伊什贝尔(Ishbel)是她6岁儿子的单亲父母,她的儿子出生时有特殊的特殊需求。她从出生就一直是他的倡导者,将他的健康和福祉要求与健康,教育和社会服务相协调。伊什贝尔坚信,没有人会像您一样了解您的孩子。

伊什贝尔(Ishbel)希望能够与父母分享一些她的经验和知识,而父母发现自己为确保孩子的最佳状态而不得不面对的事情令人望而生畏。她的背景是从事商业活动,在担任公司董事期间,她经常与公共和私营部门打交道,并希望可以将一些实践经验用于Swansea PCF及其成员的利益。

CHRIS LAW

作为两个收养孩子的父母,这两个孩子都有其他需求(ASD,ADHD,诵读困难,运动困难,语言障碍,威胁生命的过敏)。克里斯在公共部门的高级管理职位上度过了30年。现在,他大部分时间都与家人在一起,与妻子共同承担父母的看护责任。克里斯还是他儿子所在小学的州长。他拥有出色的组织能力,并在简化,关系管理,健康与安全,业务连续性,人员管理和财务方面拥有丰富的经验。克里斯对“其他学习需求”特别感兴趣,并确保有需要的孩子(无论他们可能得到什么)得到适当的支持。克里斯(Chris)希望帮助斯旺西家长照顾者论坛(Swansea Parent Carer Forum)发出真诚的声音,并协同工作以改善对年轻人的服务。

Hazel Lim

Hazel拥有斯旺西大学(Swansea University)的自闭症和相关疾病理学硕士学位,是ABMU健康利益相关者参考小组的代表。她是2017年首届自闭症斯旺西音乐节的组织者,她有一个阿斯伯格(Asperger)的丈夫,阿斯伯格(Asperger)的儿子,一个患有永久性听力障碍的女儿,而她的小儿子正在参加自闭症评估。

Hazel是一位会说多种语言的自闭症专家,也是中国慈善组织威尔士中国组织高级管理团队的组成部分,该组织的宗旨是提供对威尔士华裔居民的生活产生积极影响的服务。

最近,Hazel的一个非常成功的项目是在英国制作第一本英文和中文双语自闭症小册子。该出版物为专业人士提供了对许多文化障碍的入门理解,以便更有效地帮助他们为来自中国少数民族的客户提供支持。此外,它被证明对英国和许多其他国家的中国家庭有直接的积极影响,使他们能够更好地了解自闭症。

她一直积极参与许多社区项目,其角色包括促进福祉的项目经理以及文化活动的组织者。在过去的15年中,Hazel一直担任公共服务的口译员,支持和倡导中国少数民族家庭克服文化和语言障碍。她经常受邀进行公开演讲,并且是一位热情洋溢且引人入胜的自闭症演讲者。

Hazel专门负责各种研讨会,包括有关教育和家庭事务,父母培训,特殊需求活动和开放式艺术研讨会的建议,无论是小组讨论还是一对一讨论,Hazel拥有各种各样的技能,能力和个人经验,让她对患有自闭症的人有深刻的了解,她致力于与他们一起发挥积极的影响。

HEIDI LYTHGOE

凭借15年的IT和服务交付经验,随着第二个孩子的额外需求变得明显,工作被无限期推迟。发现她的自闭症儿子的寿命比她的女儿少15岁,这是不受生命限制的情况,这是一个激动人心的时刻。现在,她将自己的精力和经验集中在为有其他需求的所有儿童争取平等方面。在过去的三年中,她一直是儿童事务专员的成人顾问委员会成员,之前曾在斯旺西市足球俱乐部的平等与共融咨询小组中任职。她活跃在自闭症社区中,是同伴领导的斯旺西自闭症运动的受托人,并为母公司照顾者Facebook团体Joining the Dots提供支持。她坚信,与服务提供者合作开展生产活动是最有可能使服务更好地满足残疾儿童及其家庭需求的方式。

Joanann Phillips

乔的背景包括理发和邮政工作(邮政妇女)。她是三个孩子的妈妈,其中一个孩子还有其他复杂的需求,直到他成年后才被诊断出来。她的其他两个孩子由于兄弟姐妹没有适当的抚养而患有精神疾病。

Jo是一位合格的独立倡导者,经常参加有关社会服务,ALN和任何与护老者有关的立法的地方当局和政府磋商。她还帮助运营Facebook小组Joining the Dots。乔对帮助塑造我们的服务充满热情;教育,CAMHS,社会服务和健康,使每个人的需求得到满足,从而帮助他们充分发挥潜力。

Who we are

KAREN BERRELL

Drawing on her knowledge and experience of raising six children with a range of additional learning needs Karen is actively involved with a number of peer led groups within the local community. Motivated by the desire to support families facing similar challenges she is a trustee with Swansea Autism Movement as well as an admin for the peer led support group Joining The Dots.

Following on from personal experience of accessing services Karen has become a keen co-producer and has been involved with Swansea Co-production Network since 2017. Within the Swansea context she sits on the Learning Disability Co-production Strategy Group for adult services and the citizen led Swansea Vale Development Group contributing to the design and delivery of services for adults with disabilities. More broadly Karen contributes to the citizen forum and social value forum within the West Glamorgan Regional Partnership Board.

Realising the value of her experience has given Karen the confidence to take on new and exciting opportunities. In addition to becoming a parent governor at her children’s school she has also become involved in shaping Wales’ first Poverty Truth Commission in Swansea. Being passionate about improving the quality of people’s lives that require support Karen was pleased to sit as a juror for Measuring The Mountains first citizen jury and contributing to the recommendations for Welsh Government last year. This led to her accepting a fantastic opportunity to co-chair the national Study Expert Reference Group for the official evaluation of the impact of the Social Services and Well-being Act Wales.

JODI FIRTH

Jodi is a married mum to one child who has ASD. As well as being a parent carer, Jodi has been employed in domiciliary care, working with vulnerable adults aged 18+ for the last 3 years.

Prior to her current employment, Jodi was a serving soldier for 13 years. During her military career she was based in England, Northern Ireland and Germany. When Jodi left the armed forces she decided to move back to Swansea to provide stability for her then 2 year old son, while her husband continues to serve in the army. Settling into civilian life was a struggle, even more so when Jodi was trying to seek support for her then undiagnosed son. This was a big eye opener for her as she realised how disorganised and chaotic systems are to access help and support or even find out basic information.

Having experienced difficulty with ASD pathways, education and mental health services for her child, she is keen to help shape services to work more effectively for disabled children and their parent carers.

ISHBEL HANSEN

Ishbel is a single Parent Carer to her 6 year old son who was born with complex special needs. She has been his advocate since his birth, co-ordinating his health and well-being requirements with health, education and social services. Ishbel firmly believes that no-one will ever know your child as well as you do.

Ishbel would like to be able to share some of her experience and knowledge with parents who find themselves feeling daunted by what they have to deal with to ensure the best for their child. Her background is in business and during her time as a company Director, she regularly dealt with both the public and private sectors and hopes that some of this practical experience can be put to good use for the benefit of Swansea PCF and its members.

CHRIS LAW

Parent to two adopted children, both with additional needs (ASD, ADHD, dyslexia, dyscalculia, speech disorder, life-threatening allergies). Chris spent 30 years in senior management positions in the public sector. He now spends most of his time with his family, sharing the parent carer responsibilities with his wife. Chris is also a Governor at his son’s primary school. He brings great organisation skill, and experience in facilitation, relationship management, health & safety, business continuity, people management, and finance. Chris is particularly interested in Additional Learning Needs, and ensuring children with needs (whatever they may be) are supported appropriately. Chris wants to help the Swansea Parent Carer Forum have a genuine voice and to work co-productively to improve services for young people.

Hazel Lim

The holder of an MSc in Autism and Related Conditions from Swansea University, Hazel is a race representative of the ABMU Health Stakeholder Reference group. Organiser of the first Festival of Autism Swansea in 2017, she has an Asperger’s husband, Asperger’s son, a daughter with permanent hearing impairment and her youngest son is on the autism assessment pathway.

Hazel is a multilingual autism specialist and an integral part of the senior management team at Chinese In Wales Association, a charitable organisation whose ethos is to deliver services that will make a positive impact on the lives of ethnic Chinese residents in Wales.

Recently, an extremely successful project of Hazel’s has been to produce the first English and Chinese Bilingual Autism booklet in the UK. This publication has provided professionals with an introductory understanding of the many cultural barriers, in order to more effectively assist them support their clients from Chinese ethnic minority. Additionally, it is proving to have a direct positive impact on Chinese families in the UK and many other countries, enabling them to better understand autism.

She has been actively involved in many community projects with roles that have included project manager promoting wellbeing, plus organiser of cultural events. For over 15 years, Hazel has served as an interpreter in the public services, supporting and advocating for families from the Chinese ethnic minority to overcome cultural and language barriers. She is often invited to deliver public talks, and is both a passionate and engaging autism speaker.

A dedicated leader of a range of workshops including advice on education and family matters, parent training, special needs activities and open art workshops, whether in small groups, or one to one, Hazel has a diverse range of skills, abilities and personal experience which give her a profound understanding of people with autistic conditions, and she is committed to working alongside them to make a positive impact.

HEIDI LYTHGOE

With 15 years of IT and service delivery experience, a return to work was indefinitely postponed as her second child’s additional needs became apparent. Discovering her autistic son had a life expectancy 15 years less than her daughter for a non life limiting condition was a galvanising moment. She now focuses her energy and experience in pursuing equity for all children with additional needs. She has been an adult advisory board member for the Children’s Commissioner for the last 3 years and previously sat on the Equality and Inclusion Advisory Group for Swansea City Football Club. She is active within the autism community and a trustee for the peer lead Swansea Autism Movement and supports the parent carer Facebook group, Joining the Dots. She firmly believes that working co-productively with service providers is the most likely way that services will better meet the needs of disabled children and their families.

Joanann Phillips

Jo’s background includes hairdressing and postal work (post woman). She is a mum of three teenage children, one of whom has complex additional needs that weren’t diagnosed until he became a teenager. Both of her other children have mental health difficulties due to their brother not having the correct support.

Jo is a qualified independent advocate and regularly participates in local authority and government consultations on legislation related to social services, ALN and anything that relates to Carers. She also helps run the Facebook group Joining the Dots. Jo is very passionate about helping to shape our services; education, CAMHS, social services and health so that everyone has their needs met in a way that helps them reach their full potential.