具有战略意义的声音和平台,反映了我们多元化的社区

为您的声音增值

我们所做的

我们的领导团队每月开会,讨论我们一直在做的工作,通常涉及很多与当地服务部门的会议,例如教育,社会护理和健康。在这些会议上,我们会利用我们对这些服务以及其他父母的知识和经验,并确保它们构成了决策的一部分。我们还分为几个小组,使我们能够在更多领域中开展工作,其中之一是计划活动以提高我们在当地的形象。

  • 我们倾听您的声音,听取父母照顾者的意见。
  • 一旦了解了会员的优先事项,我们便将这些职位代表决策者。
  • 我们有一个网站,我们共享成功和问题,并将这些信息整合到我们的工作中。我们每年还会进行一系列调查,以收集有关这些领域的证据,这是我们会员最优先考虑的领域。
  • 我们对我们所说的和所听到的反馈。

我们不做什么

  • 我们不直接向家庭提供服务。我们的主要目的不是直接支持父母或为他们提供服务。实际上,我们认为这将构成利益冲突,因为我们的作用是诚实地对待家庭使用和需要的所有服务的有效性。如果我们提供这些服务,则会损害我们的关键能力。
  • 我们不是支持小组。
  • 我们不主张个案。我们不处理个别案件。但是,我们对个人故事非常感兴趣,因为如果我们开始听说有类似经历的家庭,这通常会导致更大的民族问题。通过听取轶事证据,我们能够在官方统计显示出问题之前很早就突出问题。

有兴趣了解更多吗?

如果您是斯旺西的有其他需求的孩子的父母或照顾者,则可以成为论坛的成员。加入后,您将收到有关我们活动的最新动态以及参与的机会,例如参与咨询和研究项目。

无论您选择参与多少,您都将帮助改变对我们的孩子至关重要的服务。因此,请将您的声音添加到其他人的声音中。我们代表的人越多,我们地区的决策者就会听到我们更多的共同声音。

A voice and platform at a strategic level, reflecting our diverse community

Giving Value to Your Voice

WHAT WE DO

Our Leadership Team meet monthly to discuss the work we’ve been doing which usually involves lots of meetings with local services such as education, social care and health. At these meetings we take our knowledge and experience of these services as well as those of other parents and ensure they form part of the decisions made. We also divide into sub groups to enable us to work in a greater number of areas one of which is planning events in order to raise our profile locally.

  • We listen to you to hear the view of parent carers.
  • Once we have understood the priorities of our members, we represent these positions to people who make decisions.
  • We have a website where we share successes and issues and we integrate these messages into our work. We also run a number of surveys each year to gather evidence on those areas that are the biggest priorities for our members.
  • We feedback on what we have said and what we have heard.

WHAT WE DON’T DO

  • We don’t directly provide services to families. Our primary purpose is not to support parents directly or provide them with services. In fact, we believe this would be a conflict of interest because our role is to be honest about the effectiveness of all services that families use and need. If we are delivering these services, it would compromise our ability to be critical.
  • We are not a support group.
  • We don’t advocate individual cases. We do not take on individual cases. However, we are very interested in individual stories because if we start hearing about families with similar experiences, this often leads to a larger national issue down the line. By listening to anecdotal evidence we are able to highlight issues long before official statistics show a problem.

INTERESTED IN FINDING OUT MORE?

If you are a parent or carer of a child with additional needs who lives in Swansea you can become a member of the forum. Once you join you’ll receive updates about our activities as well as opportunities to participate, such as being involved in consultations and research projects.

However much or little you choose to get involved you will be helping to make a difference to the services that matter so much to our children. So please add your voice to that of others. The more people we represent, the more our joint voice will be heard by decision makers in our area.